certification programs

Certification Programs

Each of NICET's nationally recognized certification programs are designed by industry experts and practitioners to ensure a qualified workforce. Certification levels lay out a career path for advancement from entry to senior level responsibilities.

General requirements for certification include passing an exam or exams, specific industry related experience, successful performance of key role specific activities, and personal recommendations (Levels III and IV). Once earned, certification must be maintained through Continuing Professional Development (CPD) and recertified every three years.

Click on a certification program title below for specific requirements, content outlines, reference lists, and more.

Technician Certification Programs

Civil Engineering Technology

Electrical and Mechanical Systems Engineering Technology

Systems Software Integrator (SSI) Certification

Technologist Certification Programs

Technologist certification requires a 4-year engineering technology degree (no testing required), and at the advanced level, documentation including a work history and endorsements.