certification programs

In-Building Public Safety Communications (IB-PSC)

This certification program is designed for engineering technicians engaged in the detailing and layout, installation, and maintenance, and/or designing of in-building public safety communication systems. Technical areas covered include knowledge of radio frequency theory, equipment mounting requirements, delivered audio quality scale, business software and mathematics, communications using project specifications and documents, site survey data and design tools, and interpretation and evaluation of surveys.

The program is being developed in cooperation with the Safer Buildings Coalition. See Initial Announcement.

The In-Building Public Safety Communications exam is delivered on a computer at Pearson Vue Testing Centers. Computer-based testing (CBT) allows NICET to extend several benefits to our customers: more flexible exam dates and appointment times; immediate scheduling and confirmation; and quicker exam scoring. For more information about taking the Standard Model exam, please click here.


Standard Model Programs

Standard Model/CBT Application
Level I $230
Level II $300
Level III $355
Design $355

Rescheduling more than 24 hours before your exam date is complimentary in the same testing window. Please contact PearsonVUE.

Within 24 hours, after your scheduled date or for a new testing window there is an additional fee equal to one half of the original testing fee.


What is the Test Like?

The exam will be administered on a computer at a proctored test center managed by a test administration company. These exams are normally closed book; any exception to this policy will be stated in the test information for that program. The content outline for the program will serve as the guide to what will be covered on the test.

Each test session begins with a tutorial allowing you to get used to the process. During the test, you will see one question at a time, but can move forward or backwards to view or review other questions. Some questions include a graphic or document to be viewed by clicking on the exhibit button. Exhibits may be in color. Correct answers will usually be selected by clicking the boxes next to the answers. In a few questions, you may be presented a picture and asked to click on the part of the picture that correctly answers the question. Questions may have more than one correct answer, but in those cases, you will be told how many answers to choose. You will receive your score at the conclusion of your test session.

In-Building Public Safety Communications Exams
Level I Exam 88 questions, 110 min.
Level II Exam TBD
Level III Exam TBD
Design 110 questions, 150 min.

To apply, click here.


You will be required to sign an NDA (Non-Disclosure Agreement) to begin your examination. Failure to accept will result in a failed score and fee’s will be forfeited. The NDA that will be displayed is:

“You must accept the Non-Disclosure Agreement (NDA) below in order to take this exam.

I understand that NICET tests and test questions are owned and copyrighted by NICET and affirm that I will not share the content of any NICET examination with any other person. I acknowledge that divulging the contents of this examination to others in any manner is expressly forbidden and may subject me to sanctions.”

Your appointment time will be 10 minutes longer to cover an introductory tutorial section before your exam begins. Any unused time will NOT extend the time allotted for answering exam questions.



A calculator is built into the exam. Please see the CBT Calculator Preview for information about the onscreen calculator. Candidates may not bring any additional calculators into the testing room. Hand-held calculators may be available for candidates to use on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Applicants with a disability as defined in Title III of the Americans with Disabilities Act who may be placed at a disadvantage when taking a NICET certification examination may request a testing accommodation by contacting test@nicet.org prior to scheduling testing. Each request will be evaluated individually and every effort will be made to offer reasonable accommodations to qualifying applicants. There will be no additional charges to qualifying applicants for these accommodations. NICET will contact the applicant to arrange a mutually suitable accommodation.

David Adams, PCTEL, Inc
John Batista, PWR Wireless
Andrew Ely, PierCon Solutions
Michael T. Cassell, Communications Electronics
Jason Chambers, Day Wireless Systems
Brett Coe, RCDD.
Christopher Creamer, DynaFire LLC
Matthew DiMarco, Airtower Networks
Ron Dow
Adam Feehan, PierCon Solutions LLC
Josh Gerst, RF Connect
Greg Glenn, Pulse Signal Solutions
Chris Godwin, RF Solutions LLC
Peter M. Goldring, SET, CFE, CAT-1, Goldring Protection
Gary Gray, City of Fort Lauderdale, Radio Systems Manager (retired)
Gabe Guevara, Westell Technologies Inc.
Steven D. Hall, Collier County Government
Nathaniel C. Hinkle
Steve Hronek, Comsec Associates, Inc.
Bob Jans, Industrial Communications & Electronics Inc.
BJ Klingensmith, APG Life Safety
Robert LaMadline, Elite Fire Safety, Inc.

Michael Littman, RF Solutions LLC
Matt Lunny, Comba Telecom Inc.
Casey McKenna, SET, ADT Commercial
Ted Metcalfe, Engineering Wireless Services
Derrick Mitchell, LS Systems
Jorge Molina, Industrial Communications & Electronics Inc.
James Moore, JM Electronic Engineering, Inc.
Michael Puskas, A.J. Kirkwood & Associates, Inc.
Mark Rice, TESSCO Technologies
Richard Roberts, Honeywell Fire Safety
Joe Rohlic, Radio One Inc.
Ernest Schirmer, WSP USA
Mike Schmitt, HCI Systems Inc.
Kevin Shea, USA Groups
Syed Sohaebuddin, Black Box Corporation
Edward Steffens, Iona McGregor Fire District
Brian Stuart, SET, ADT Commercial
Chet Taylor, ABIS Solutions
Jared Vance, HUNT Electric, Inc.
John Vassel, Safety Systems Inc.
Robert Vasvary, Industrial Communications & Electronics Inc.
Corey Vaughan, PMC Associates
Kevin Vierling, Pando Telecom