How Do I Get Certified?

NICET certifications are based on the candidate's ability to prove a level of expertise in their field via an examination, work experience, and performance verification. Varying levels of certification represent different levels of expertise in your field, with the more advanced levels also requiring personal letters of recommendation and further project management documentation.

To get started, first identify the appropriate certification program for your skill set. We currently offer 12 different certifications in Civil Engineering Technology and Electrical and Mechanical Systems Engineering Technology.

Once you've determined which program is appropriate for you, review the requirements for the level of certification you are seeking in that program. We offer up to four levels of certification, based on your expertise and experience. For each level of certification, a candidate must pass an examination and have a supervisor verify the competency of the candidate in those areas. In addition to the examination and verification requirements, candidates must demonstrate the following for the four levels of certification available:

  • Level 1: Minimal relevant experience or entry-level training
  • Level 2: A minimum of two years of relevant experience
  • Level 3: A minimum of five years of relevant experience and a personal recommendation
  • Level 4: A minimum of ten years of relevant experience, a personal recommendation, and document of your role in a major project

Click on a certification program title below for complete information about that program:

Technician Certification Programs

Civil Engineering Technology

Electrical and Mechanical Systems Engineering Technology

Technologist Certification Program

Technologist certification requires a 4-year engineering technology degree (no testing required), and at the advanced level, documentation including a work history and endorsements.

See Information about Technologist Certification

Archived Work Element Information