Fire Protection News

In the past few years, NICET has worked towards updating and remodeling its Fire Protection certification programs to ensure that they meet industry needs, remain up to date, and meet the standards of certification program accrediting agencies, such as ANSI. This task involves replacing the work-element tests with standard tests, one (or more) per certification level. For more information about the transition to the Standard Model/CBT (Computer-Based Testing) please read NICET’s FAQs for Computer Based Testing (CBT).


Certification programs with standardized, computer-based tests

The following certifications' standardized tests are administered via computer at proctored, Pearson VUE test centers throughout the country:

  • Fire Alarm Systems
  • Water-Based (formerly Automatic Sprinkler) Systems Layout
  • Inspection and Testing of Water-Based Systems


Certification programs currently under redevelopment

NICET is currently working with committees to design and/or write the tests for the following certification:

  • Special Hazards


Get involved: help write/update the tests

NICET will soon begin assembling a panel of subject matter experts to write the new tests for Special Hazards. Additionally, we are in the early stages of updating the Fire Alarm Systems standardized, computer-based tests. NICET expects to update all of its standardized Fire Protection tests every few years to keep them up to date. If you're willing to review and write test questions for your certification area, then please complete our volunteer form.