What Certifications are Available?

Each of NICET's nationally recognized certification programs lays out a path for your career advancement from entry to senior level responsibilities. Designed by industry experts to provide engineering technology fields with a qualified workforce, our programs are increasingly used by employers and specifiers to measure job skills and knowledge.

Click on a certification program title below for complete information about that program:

Technician Certification Programs

Civil Engineering Technology

Electrical and Mechanical Systems Engineering Technology

General Knowledge Programs

General Knowledge certification testing was discontinued in 2005, and NICET is no longer offering TT and AET grade certifications. Certificants who already hold an Active-Status AET or ET grade certification may upgrade by meeting the upper-grade work experience and recommendation requirements. All Active-Status General Knowledge certificants can retain their certification(s) by complying with NICET's Recertification Policy.

Technologist Certification Programs

Technologist certification requires a 4-year engineering technology degree (no testing required), and at the advanced level, documentation including a work history and endorsements.

See Information about Technologist Certification


We require our certificants to update their skills and knowledge through a recertification process that encourages continuing professional development. For more information, please visit our recertification webpage.