Archived Work Elements - How Do I Get Certified?

Archive- NICET ended the Work Element (WE) exams December 31, 2017. This page is for information and reference about the WE process. NICET will continue to recognize certifications earned in the WE format. Certification holders must maintain their certifications through the usual recertification process. NICET will recognize higher level exam requirements met in the WE format for the foreseeable future. NICET will notify candidates of any change. Certification holders that passed WEs in their current recertification period but did not meet a higher level exam requirement may claim one CPD point per WE passed for recertification. To meet higher level exam requirements in the future, candidates must pass the appropriate exam/s, if available, in the Standard Model/CBT format. Testing is no longer available for some programs.

NICET certifications are based on the candidate's ability to prove a level of expertise in their field via an examination, work experience, and performance verification. Varying levels of certification represent different levels of expertise in your field, with the more advanced levels also requiring personal letters of recommendation and further project management documentation.

There are up to four levels of certification, based on expertise and experience. For each level of certification, a candidate must pass an examination and have a supervisor verify the competency of the candidate in those areas. In addition to the examination and verification requirements, candidates must demonstrate the following for the four levels of certification available:

  • Level 1: Minimal relevant experience or entry-level training
  • Level 2: A minimum of two years of relevant experience
  • Level 3: A minimum of five years of relevant experience and a personal recommendation
  • Level 4: A minimum of ten years of relevant experience, a personal recommendation, and document of your role in a major project

Click on a certification program title below for complete information about that program:

Technician Certification Programs

Civil Engineering Technology

Electrical and Mechanical Systems Engineering Technology